Bongiorno's Italian Restaurant

"Italian Food at Its Best" In Business Since 1978

Overall Restaurant Rating:

Welcome to Bongiorno's!

23 Dove Street,

Albany, New York 12210

518-462-9176

Reservation Recommended

Untitled Document
     
 

Google

 
     
  Roy Lindo
a year ago
I have been going to Bongiorno's for years. I always look foward to going there with business clients for lunch or with my family for dinner.
The food has always been excellent cooked to order.Service is professional and attentive. Prices are great for quality of food. Atmoshere is romantic and quaint.
The owners always talk to all their customers at each table something I rarely see in other restaurants.

Turns out his family has a struggling restaurant in the area and he takes it upon himself to post negative reviews on his competion he does not even visit the restaurants. Bad business pratice for Michael Sainato. he has posted negative coments on Lombardos Bongiornos Buca Di Pepo and more.
 
     
  Debbie Park-Boussu
a year ago
Really wonderful experience all around.
Can't figure out what is up with the two idiots playing with reviews. This is serious, guys. Don't you have something better to do?
 
     
  Doug Fuller
2 years ago
OMG! This place is wonderful! VERY good food, nice waiter.
 
     
  A Google User
2 years ago
I have never had a better dining experience. I ate here last night with two others, we were craving Italian. My GPS directed me here and I'm so glad that it did! My waiter was very nice and helpful. The (I believe) owner came to our table and chatted with us several times while we ate. The dining room is a bit small, and when there are many people dining it's crowded. But the food is amazing and the atmosphere is comfortable, like you're part of they're family. I'f I'm ever in Albany again this will be the first place on my list of destinations.
 
     
  A Google User
4 years ago
Excellent food, Waiter was Top Notch. Wait time was perfect.
Not very often do you find a restaurant in this crappy capital district
area that is a 5 Star. We plan on going there more often now that we have discovered it. Food tasted like we were in NYC at one of the fine Italian restaurants in Little Italy. We have been to famous name restaurants in CD, but Bongiorno's Restaurant is the "Real Thing"
 
     
  A Google User
4 years ago
Bongiorno's is a real gem. We had dinner here last night and the food was excellent. I had chicken francese which came with a salad (the house salad was fresh), and spaghetti (marinara sauce among the best I've ever had), and the chicken was so tender I cut it with a fork. And delicious. The ambiance was great, our waiter Brian was friendly and took great care of us. Not too crowded on a weeknight, just a few tables full and a senator dined there at the bar. The place is charming, the food is authentic Italian and homemade. A real treat! Will stop by the next time we're in Albany.
 
     
  A Google User
5 years ago
Best restaurant in new york a must go, great for lunch and dinner or even large groups. Nice area upstairs and great atmosphere
 
     
 

Yelp

 
     
 

1/20/2010

Bongiorno's is a real gem.  We had dinner here last night and the food was excellent.  I had chicken francese which came with a salad (the house salad was fresh), and spaghetti (marinara sauce among the best I've ever had), and the chicken was so tender I cut it with a fork.  And delicious.  The dessert was also good, we had tartufo and chocolate mousse cake.  The ambiance was great, our waiter Brian was friendly and took great care of us and had some great recommendations.  Not too crowded on a weeknight, just a few tables full and a senator dined there at the bar.  The place is charming, the food is authentic Italian and homemade.  A real treat!  Will stop by the next time we're in Albany.

 
     
 

3/12/2010

The food is outstanding. Old-school, neighborhood place that makes me want to eat here once a week.

Here is another Albany place that shines in the seafood department. 

We started with the clams and mussels sauteed with white onions in a wine and butter sauce. It was the appetizer special. The regular menu item features these bivalves in a marinara sauce. The mussels were a bit overdone but the clams were perfect.

For my entree I had the salmon special which was served in a sauce including lemon and capers. Served with a side of broccoli and broiled tomatoes. The salmon was super, super perfect. It was grilled and then finished with the sauce so the outside had some color while the inside was just done.

My dining partner had the veal saltimbocca which involved mushrooms and prosciutto combined in a butter sauce over the most tender pieces of veal. I nearly mistook it for chicken it was so tender and moist. There's nothing more disappointing than a piece of veal that has not been cooked properly. The guy at the helm knows his veal and his fish!

The bread was served generously and warm, but sadly, I am not a fan of the pesto. I have been spoiled by a brand I find at the Troy Farmer's Market and it is superior to Bongiorno's.

Salad dressings usually do not wow me. But I think the house Italian dressing here deserves a shout out. It's made in-house,does not have any inkling of corn syrup and tastes like my mother makes it. Simple, simple, simple. Olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper and maybe some garlic powder. Tart and light.

I was not thrilled with the side of pasta that was included with our entrees. I prefer my pasta tossed with sauce rather than served plain with a ladle of sauce on top. There was nothing wrong with it, but a personal preference of presentation. I don't like it when my first bite of pasta has no sauce at all and the last bite is all tomatoes.

The owner, who is very pleasant, stopped by our table to be sure our meal was satisfactory.

Get dessert. It's delicious. We had tiramisu. It is generous and well worth the calories.

We'll be back. Good service, great food. We were treated like we had been eating here for years.

 
     
 

Tripadvisor

 
     
 

“Great Italian restaurant tucked away in a neighborhood”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This place was recommended to us when Katrinella's was closed. We have eaten here twice now and looking forward to going back the next time we are in Albany. We are not bothered by the older decor, in fact it adds to the charm. Our meals were delicious each time.
 
     
 

Larry L
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
 
“Old World charm”
Reviewed July 22, 2014
We love this restaurant. It's old fashioned wood paneled dining room and white linen tablecloths evoke days gone by. The food is just marvelous. Without a doubt the best alfredo I have ever had! Everything made to order, fresh.